The Northfield Raiders were rated #3 in the regular season Minnesota Football Coaches Association poll of high school teams in Class 5A.

Last Friday the Raiders had a thrilling come from behind win over the top ranked Owatonna and won Wednesday night to finish their season undefeated.

The Owatonna Huskies dropped to #8 despite being 7-1 to finish the season.

Goodhue is still atop the Class 1A poll and finished the regular season with an unblemished record.  Blooming Prairie is #8 and Rushford-Peterson #9.

Mayer Lutheran received votes.

In Class 2A the unbeaten Caledonia Warriors are still on top and Triton moves up a notch to #4.  They are in the same Section and are seeded #1 and #2.

In Class 3A unbeaten St. Croix Lutheran is on top and Sibley East was #3.

The poll was released before Wednesday's Waterville-Elysian-Morristown convincing victory of the Wolverines.  Stewartville was tied for #10.

In Class 4A Winona has had the top spot all year and is undefeated.

Kasson-Mantorville moved up to #5 and also unbeaten.  They play Faribault next Saturday, October 28 on POWER 96 Radio 95.9 FM.  Coverage begins 6:45 p.m.

In Class 6A Eden Prairie sits on top.  Rosemount is #7 and Prior Lake and Lakeville North received votes but were not in the top ten.

Spring Grove is still on top of the nine-man poll with Cleveland and Houston tied for #5 and Grand Meadow dropping to others receiving votes.

The complete polls are listed below:

Class 1A

1. Goodhue


3. Braham


5. Minneota

6. Ottertail Central

7. Ada-Borup/NCW

8. Blooming Prairie

9. Rusford-Peterson

10. Mahnomen

Others receiving votes:  Mayer Lutheran, Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa

Class 2A

1. Caledonia

2. Minneapolis North

3. Hawley

4. Triton

5. Redwood Valley

6. Pipestone

7. Barnesville

8. Maple River

9. Pillager

10. Royalton

Others receiving votes:  Paynesville, Minnewaska, Warroad

Class 3A

1. St. Croix Lutheran

2. Pierz

3. Sibley East

4. Spectrum

5. Glencoe-Silver Lake

6. Fairmont

7. Esko

8. Two Harbors

9. Annandale

10. Jackson County Central tie Stewartville

Others receiving votes:  Perham, Mora, Pequot Lakes, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton

Class 4A

1. Winona

2. Marshall

3. Benilde-St. Margaret's

4. Rocori

5. Kasson-Mantorville

6. Cloquet

7. Holy Angels

8. Zimmerman

9. Hutchinson


Others receiving votes:  SMB-Wolfpack, Mound-Westonka, South St. Paul, Waseca

Class 5A

1. Chaska

2. Robbinsdale Cooper

3. Northfield

4. Elk River

5. Apple Valley

6. Mankato West

7. Mahtomedi

8. Owatonna

9. Brainerd

10. Andover

Others receiving votes:  Rogers, Park Cottage Grove, Chanhassen, St. Cloud Tech

Class 6A

1. Eden Prairie

2. Edina

3. Centennial

4. Minnetonka

5. St. Michael-Albertville

6. Roseville

7. Rosemount

8. Totino-Grace

9. Blaine

10. Cretin-Derham Hall

Others receiving votes:  Maple Grove, Prior Lake, Lakeville North


1. Spring Grove

2. Cromwell

3. Stephen-Argyle

4. Verndale

5. Cleveland tie Houston

7. Red Rock Central

8. Norman County East/ UIen-Hitterdal

9. Nevis tie North Woods

Others receiving votes:  Cook County, Brandon-Evansville, Grand Meadow


High School Football Field