The Associated Press released their first football polls of the season today and the Faribault Falcons will be facing their second state ranked team Friday night.  Faribault makes the long trip to Winona's Paul Giel Field.  The game will be broadcast on POWER 96 Radio, 95.9 FM.  Winona is rated #3 in Class 4A.

The Falcons are coming off a home opening loss to the top ranked Owatonna Huskies last week.  The Huskies are still #1 in Class 5A.  Future Falcon opponents Mankato West and Rochester Mayo are also rated.  Albert Lea is in the same section as Faribault and Winona and also received votes.

Other area  teams included are Cannon Falls and Zumbrota-Mazeppa in others receiving votes category Class 3A.  Mayer Lutheran is #4 in Class A, Goodhue #6, Blooming Prairie #8 and Rushford-Peterson #9.  Bethlehem Academy's week one opponent United South Central also received votes in the Class A poll.

Waseca is #5 in Class 4A and Mankato East received votes.  Stewartville received votes in Class 3A .  Rochester Lourdes is #2 and Jordan #3.

In Class 2A Caledonia is #2, Maple River #5, Chatfield #7 and LeSueur-Henderson and Lewiston-Altura received votes.

In 9-man football  Spring Grove is #1, Grand Meadow #5 and Houston #10 with Cleveland and Lanesboro receiving votes.

Class 6A has #4 Lakeville North and #5 Prior Lake.  The complete listings are below with the number of first place votes in parentheses.

Class 6A

1. Eden Praire (3)

2. Minnetonka (2)

3. Cretin-Derham Hall

4. Lakeville North

5. Prior Lake

6. Ednia tied with Maple Grove

8. Blaine

9. Champlin Park tied with Wayzata

Others receiving votes:  Roseville, Mounds View, Buffalo, Totino-Grace.

Class 5A

1. Owatonna (5)

2. Elk River (1)

3. Mahtomedi tied with Andover

5. Mankato West

6. St. Thomas Academy tied with Robbinsdale Cooper

8. Chanhassen

9. Bemidji

10. Spring Lake Park

Others receiving votes: Tartan, Waconia, Bloomington Jefferson, Chisago Lakes, St. Louis Park, Rochester Mayo.

Class 4A

1. Holy Angels Academy (5)

2. Cloquet

3. Winona

4. Detroit Lakes

5. Waseca (1)

6 Hutchinson (1)

7. Zimmerman

8. Fridley

9. SMB-Wolfpack

10. DeLaSalle

Others receiving votes:  Marshall, Willmar, Becker, Richfield, Rocori, Big Lake, Mound-Westonka, Mankato East , Delano, South St. Paul, Albert Lea, Duluth Denfeld. Hermantown, St. Paul Academy/Minnehaha Academy/Blake, Benilde-St. Margaret's, Hibbing, Foley.

Class 3A

1.  Pierz (5)

2. Rochester Lourdes (2)

3. Jordan

4. Fairmont

5. Pequot Lakes

6. Perham

7. Breck

8. Proctor

9. Glencoe-Silver Lake

10. Jackson County Central

Others receiving votes:  East Grand Forks, Annandale, Mora, Greenway/Nashwauk-Keewatin, Providence Academy-Heritage Christian Academy-Maranatha, Stewartville, Worthington, St. Peter, Rockford, Park Rapids, Spectrum, Brooklyn Center, Cannon Falls, International Falls, Zumbrota-Mazeppa, St. Croix Lutheran.

Class 2A

1. Minneapolis North

2. Caledonia (5)

3. Pipestone

4. Barnesville

5. Maple River

6. Maple Lake

7. Chatfield

8. Redwood Valley

9. Breckendridge tie with Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City

Others receiving votes:  Roseau, Royalton, Warroad, LeSueur-Henderson, Eden Valley-Watkins, Sauk Centre, Frazee, Morris Area-Chokio-Alberta, Pillager, Hawley, Lewiston-Altura, Bagley, Paynesville, Concordia Academy-Roseville, Aitkin.

Class A

1.  Minneota (4)


3. Wabasso

4. Mayer Lutheran

5. Mahnomen-Wauben

6. Goodhue

7. Ada-Borup (1)

8. Blooming Prairie

9. Rushford-Peterson

10. Ottertail Central

Others receiving votes:  United South Central, Dawson-Boyd, Adrian, Deer River, Fertile-Beltrami, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg, Lakeview, Polk County West, Red Lake County.

Class 9-Man

1.  Spring Grove (4)

2. Stephen-Argyle

3. Verndale (1)

4. Nevis

5. Grand Meadow (1)

6. Russell-Tyler-Ruthton

7. Underwood

8. Cromwell

9. Cook County

10. Houston

Others receiving votes: Bertha-Hewitt, Lake of the Woods, Westbrook-Walnut Grove, Cleveland, NCE-UH, Lanesboro, Ely, Mountain Lake Area, Goodridge-Grygla-Gatzke, Sleepy Eye St. Mary's, South Ridge, Edgerton-Ellsworth, Hill City-Northland, Hills-Beaver Creek, Red Rock Central, Silver Bay, Mountain Iron-Buhl, Bigfork, Laporte, Wheaton-Herman-Norcross.

Goodhue Football Crow's Nest- photo by Gordy Kosfeld
Goodhue Football Crow's Nest- photo by Gordy Kosfeld


More From KQCL Power 96