Faribault Public Schools Superintendent Todd Sesker and School Board members Richard Olson and Chad Wolff will be on AM Minnesota Thursday.

The KDHL program is from 9:30 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.

November 7, 2017 residents of School District 656 are being asked to vote on an increase in the operating levy and a building bond levy.

The vote to go to the public was unanimous by the School Board.

The average value of a residential homestead property in the district is 150 thousand dollars and passage of both questions on the ballot would result in an approximate net change in the school's portion of the tax levy of 242 dollars a year or $20.17 a month.

The Operating Levy request calls for revocation of the existing $804.87 per pupil levy and replacing it with a $1,040 per pupil levy.

The second ballot question asks for permission to issue general obligation school building bonds in an amount not to exceed $86,160,000 to provide funds, "for the acquisition and betterment of school sites and facilities, including the construction of secure entrances, safety and security improvements."

One of the facilities included in the proposal is an event center but that is not specifically mentioned in the question which we will definitely ask our guests about Thursday.

Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. on Tuesday, November 7 and there are three polling sites.

Those who live in the City of Faribault Precincts 1 and 2 and the townships of Bridgewater, Cannon City, Erin, Forest, Shieldsville and Wells vote at the High School.

Residents of the City of Faribault Precincts 3 and 4 and the townships of Morristown, Walcott and Warsaw vote at the Faribault Public Schools District office located on the Faribault Middle School Campus.

Residents of Nerstrand and the townships of Northfield, Richland and Wheeling and Holden Township in Goodhue County vote at the Nerstrand Charter School.

Faribault School Bus. Photo by Gordy Kosfeld