A large turnout of players took part in the annual Owatonna City Open golf tournament over the weekend. The event was held at the Owatonna Country Club and Brooktree for the adults and older juniors. The youngest golfers played on Havana Hills.

Chad Hacker won the men's championship flight by three strokes with a second round 69 to hold on over hard-charging Wesley Dickhaus who carded a 67 on Sunday at the country club. Hacker shot 72 on Saturday for a total of 141. Dickhaus shot 77 in his opening round for a 144 total. Steve Busho finished third with 146.

The rest of the top ten for the championship flight were Brian Sommerfeldt, Jason Thompson, Tanner Grimmius, Tim Holland, David Johnson, Denver Dierson and Cooper Hager. Results are from www.owatonnagolf.com.

Sue Erickson won the women's flight with a total gross of 176. Pat Blaha had 189 and Sara Shea shot 204. Erickson also was tops in total net score of 152. Blaha had 153. Maria Rogers was third with 154.

Chris Norbury won the senior flight with a 156 total gross. Reza Jozi was second with 161. Tom Smith finished third at 162. In total net, James Buzick was first with 131. Jozi had 134 and Mark Place had 138.

Eli Schroeder won the first flight with 156, one stroke lower than Darren Zempel. Each shot 80 in the first round.

The second flight featured a tie for first. Jay Pavek and Steve Phelps carded 165, one shot lower than Zach Radtke.

Joel Olander captured the third flight with a 167. Michael Ehlert shot 170 and Neal Steffenson was third with 171.

There was also a tie for atop the leaderboard in the fourth flight. Chris Millar and David Feichtinger shot 177. Scott McCauley was third with 179.

The fifth flight had a tie with Brody Dalland and Colton Schock at 177. Joe Matzke won the sixth flight with 180. Derek Meyer shot 188. The seventh flight went to Kyle Limoseth with 199. Aaron Litke shot 204.

There were 120 adult golfers.

Junior results top finishers were as follows

  • girls 13-17: Katie Ihrke, Leah Seykora, Cassie Maine
  • boys 13-17: Ian Bundy, Jordan Wilson, Matthew Larson
  • girls 10-12: Carmen Jirele, Ellie Larson, Karys Richardson
  • boys 10-12: Jack Langlois, Drew Reinke, Will Hacker
  • girls 7-9: Danica Hager, Myla Anderson, Anna Hagenson
  • boys 7-9: Nathan Crawford, Will Vincelli, Jaxn Hacker
  • girls 4-6: Lyla Olson, Victoria Crawford
  • boys 4-6: Finnegan McCauley, Brayden Fletcher, Keegan Klein


More From KQCL Power 96