A year after news surfaced that the celebrated Chicago-based reissue label Numero Group was working on a retrospective of early Husker Du material comes word that we won't have to wait too much longer. But just about all we know right now is that it will be called Savage Young Du.

Numero Group posted a picture of the cover in their offices to their Instagram account. "A little something to tide you over during the eclipse," they wrote. "We'll tell you more in 15 days, promise."

Slicing Up Eyeballs also found out that Savage Young Du has the catalog number of 200 and will be available on three CDs or four LPs.

Last September the label tweeted that they had acquired Husker's Du's "Mac-Bruce Demo Tape," which features six songs -- “Nuclear Nightmare,” “Do the Bee,” “Uncle Ron,” “Don’t Try to Call,” “Sex Dolls” and “MTC” -- that they recorded with Bill Bruce in May 1979. They had apparently been trying to get the tape, which surfaced on a 2010 bootleg called The Truth Hurts, for seven years.

This is the second time Husker Du has worked with Numero Group. In 2013, for Record Store Day, they released a double-7-inch single of four songs the band recorded in 1980, “Statues,” “Amusement,” “Writer’s Cramp” and “Let’s Go Die.” The band had intended to put them out as an EP for their first release, but put out a 45RPM instead due to costs. All of the songs except for "Writer's Cramp" had been included as bonus tracks on the 1993 CD Everything Falls Apart and More.

Alternative Bands Snubbed by the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

More From KQCL Power 96