New Owatonna High School Athletic Hall of Fame member Amy (Kubat) Lageson won a state shot put championship and was a player on OHS volleyball and basketball teams that went to state. Lageson and four others will be inducted into the hall of fame during ceremonies Friday in the high school commons and at the football game.

Lageson earned nine varsity letters, five of them in track and field where she won the state shot put title in 2008 while placing fourth in discus at the same time. She set school records in both events and won the Big Nine championship in shot put three straight seasons.

Lageson went on to compete in the hammer throw at the University of Minnesota and was a Top Five Scholar Athlete and Big Ten Distinguished Scholar. She was a member of the National Honor Society at OHS.

She was a captain on the Huskies basketball team that went to state in 2008 and was a member of the volleyball squad that won the Big Nine title, section championship and consolation title at state her senior season.

Lageson is an O-Club member, for lettering in three sports her senior season. Visit the official Owatonna Athletic Hall of Fame web page here.

Other hall of fame inductees include 1958 graduate Tom Haigh who joins his brother Jim in the hall, state wrestling champ and 2001 graduate Derek Johnson, state gymnastics champion and 1990 grad Nicki (Miller) Martineau, and longtime coach Jeanne Stursa.

A public reception will be held at 3 pm Friday, September 13 where the inductees will share their feelings on the honor. The hall of fame will have 125 members with the newest additions. Plaques of all the hall of fame members can be viewed in the hallway outside the gym at the high school.


More From KQCL Power 96