The Rochester Royals and Champlin Park LoGators kept everyone on the edge of their seats in Dundas last night.  The LoGators took a 3-2 lead in the top of the 12th inning.

The Royals loaded the bases in the bottom of the inning before a couple of errors led to the 4-3 Rochester victory.

It's the first state title for Rochester since 2006.  The first team other than Chanhassen or Miesville to win the Minnesota Baseball Association Class B Championship in six years.

Matt Meyer was named the Fred Roufs Class B Tournament MVP while picking up the victory in 4 2/3 innings of relief in the title tilt.  He allowed 5 hits, 2 unearned runs, walked 1, struck out 6 batters.

Alex Rudquist started the game for Rochester and lasted 6 innings with 1 run allowed on 8 hits.  He walked nobody and struck out 2.

Hayden Brown went the next 1 1/3 innings for the Royals with no hits, no runs scored, 1 strikeout, 3 walks.

Champlin Park scored a run in the top of the 12th inning on an error.  The LoGators brought in Jerry Gooley to pitch in the bottom of the final inning.

Gooley walked the first batter, followed by a single and error to load the bases setting up the pair of errors that ended the game.

Bo McClintock scored the winning run when he went through a stop sign at third base and slid safely at home.  McClintock had 2 hits in the game including a double.

Catcher Logan Milene also had a pair of hits for Rochester.

Champlin Park had 13 hits, 2 errors in the game.  The Royals finished with 7 hits, 3 errors.

Dylan Wilson started the game for the LoGators going 6 innings with 3 hits allowed, 2 runs, struck out 6, walked 3 batters.

Jack Haring threw 5 innings of 3 hit shutout ball with 2 strikeouts. 2 walks before Gooley was brought in for the 12th inning.

Ethan Mocchi led the hitting attack with 3 hits including a double.  Reid Conlee had a pair of hits, Matt Marek a pair of hits inluding a double

The LoGators took a 1-0 lead in the first inning.  Rochester tied the game in the second inning then took the lead in the 7th inning.

Champlin Park scored in the top of the 9th on a error.  Rochester had the bases loaded in the bottom of the 9th but could not score so the game went extra innings.

Rochester had 3 sacrifice bunts and a sacrifice fly aiding in their victory.

Below is a photo the last Dundas team to win the Class B title in 2015.

2015 MBA Class B State Amateur Baseball Champion Dundas Dukes. Photo by Gordy Kosfeld
2015 MBA Class B State Amateur Baseball Champion Dundas Dukes. Photo by Gordy Kosfeld

Check this Rochester information out.

MORE TO EXPLORE: Signs From Rochester's Past That Are Still Present



More From KQCL Power 96