The Big NIne Conference is without a doubt one of the best in the state in fastpitch softball.  The first rankings after games have been played was released Thursday and no less than five Big Nine teams are ranked in the top ten in Class 3A.  Defending State Champion Winona is #1, Faribault #4, Mankato West #5, Mankato East #6 and Northfield #10.

Faribault is in Section 2 and man is it loaded.  Mankato West, Mankato East, #2 ranked Waconia, New Ulm (received votes) all join the Falcons in what has to be the toughest section in Class 3A.

Complete rankings are listed below

1. Winona                                                                                                                          2. Waconia                                                                                                                          2. North Branch                                                                                                                  4. Faribault                                                                                                                          5. Mankato West                                                                                                                  6. Mankato East                                                                                                                  7. Hermantown                                                                                                                    7. Rocori                                                                                                                              9. Hill-Murray                                                                                                                      10. Totino-Grace                                                                                                                  10. Northfield                                                                                                                      10. Chisago Lakes                                                                                                              Others receiving votes: Academy of Holy Angels, Cloquet, Visitation, Benilde St. Margaret's School, Detroit Lakes, Delano, New Ulm, Orono, and Becker.

Class 4A

1. Prior Lake                                                                                                                        2. Buffalo                                                                                                                            3. Forest Lake                                                                                                                      4. Park                                                                                                                                5. Chanhassen                                                                                                                    6. Maple Grove                                                                                                                    7. Eastview                                                                                                                          8. New Prague                                                                                                                    9. Farmington                                                                                                                      10. Stillwater Area

Others receiving votes:  Coon Rapids, Burnsville, Centennial, Lakeville South, North, Eagan, Blaine, Minnetonka, Anoka, Bloomington Jefferson, East Ridge, Edina, Brainerd.

Class 2A

  1. Maple Lake
  2. Zumbrota-Mazeppa
  3. Pipestone Area
  4. Park Rapids Area
  5. Rochester Lourdes
  6. St. Peter
  7. Esko
  8. Chatfield
  9. Rockford
  10. Annandale
  11. Others receiving votes:   Tracy-Milroy-Balaton, Thief River Falls, Morris Area/ Chokio Alberta, Jordan, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton, Pierz, Rush City, St. Agnes, Fairmont.

Class 1A

  1. New York Mills
  2. Sleepy Eye Saint Mary's
  3. NCE/UH Titans
  4. Pine River-Backus
  5. Kimball Area
  6. Edgerton/SW MN Christian
  7. Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg
  8. Wabasha-Kellogg
  9. Carlton
  10. Cleveland
Home Plate photo by Gordy Kosfeld
Home Plate photo by Gordy Kosfeld


More From KQCL Power 96