The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is now recommending masks be worn indoors by all people in counties that are reporting substantial or high levels of community transmission of COVID-19.

As of today, thirty-five of Minnesota's eighty-seven counties meet that criteria. The revised guidance comes as concerns grow regarding a nationwide spike in delta variant COVID-19 infections.

Earlier in the week, the CDC announced that it was recommending vaccinated and unvaccinated individuals alike return to wearing masks indoors in parts of the U.S. where the delta variant of the coronavirus is fueling infection surges.

Centers for Disease Control
Centers for Disease Control
Get our free mobile app

CDC Recommends Indoor Mask Wearing in These Minnesota Counties

  • Aitkin County (substantial risk)
  • Anoka County (substantial risk)
  • Benton County (substantial risk)
  • Crow Wing County (substantial risk)
  • Dakota County (substantial risk)
  • Dodge County (high risk)
  • Douglas County (substantial risk)
  • Fillmore County (substantial risk)
  • Freeborn County (substantial risk)
  • Hennepin County (substantial risk)
  • Hubbard County (substantial risk)
  • Isanti County (substantial risk)
  • Kandiyohi County (substantial risk)
  • Le Sueur County (substantial risk)
  • Lake County (high risk)
  • Lake of The Woods County (substantial risk)
  • Mcleod County (substantial risk)
  • Meeker County (substantial risk)
  • Morrison County (high risk)
  • Nobles County (substantial risk)
  • Ramsey County (substantial risk)
  • Redwood County (substantial risk)
  • Renville County (substantial risk)
  • Rice County (substantial risk)
  • Rock County (substantial risk)
  • Scott County (substantial risk)
  • Sherburne County (substantial risk)
  • Stearns County (substantial risk)
  • Swift County (substantial risk)
  • Traverse County (substantial risk)
  • Waseca County (substantial risk)
  • Washington County (substantial risk)
  • Wilkin County (substantial risk)
  • Winona County (substantial risk)
  • Wright County (substantial risk)

The State of Minnesota is now offering a $100 Visa gift card to unvaccinated individuals 12 and older who get their first COVID-19 vaccination dose through August 15th.

The Centers for Disease Control is also recommending that all K-12 students, teachers, staff and visitors wear masks inside school buildings to start the new school year, regardless of vaccination status.

CHECK IT OUT: Here's how to stop your glasses from fogging while wearing a face mask


LOOK: Answers to 30 common COVID-19 vaccine questions

While much is still unknown about the coronavirus and the future, what is known is that the currently available vaccines have gone through all three trial phases and are safe and effective. It will be necessary for as many Americans as possible to be vaccinated in order to finally return to some level of pre-pandemic normalcy, and hopefully these 30 answers provided here will help readers get vaccinated as soon they are able.

More From KQCL Power 96