Kenyon-Wanamingo had four wrestlers win Section titles Saturday, and two placed second to qualify for the state tournament in St. Paul. The Knights are participating in the team portion of the state tournament, also at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

Coverage of their opening match against fellow Hiawatha Valley League team and rival Zumbrota-Mazeppa will begin at 10:30AM on KDHL Radio, 920 AM and  You can also download the free RadioPup app and listen on your favorite mobile device.

Tom Weeks and I will have the showdown match between the No. 4 seed Cougars and No. 5 seed and defending state champion Knights.

When the two teams wrestled earlier in the season in Mazeppa, Zumbrota-Mazeppa had a one-point victory. Kenyon-Wanamingo head coach Matt Ryan told KDHL his lineup has changed since then, and the Cougars' probably has also.

Kenyon-Wanamingo wrestlers heading to St. Paul as individuals include:

  • 113 champion: Jeron Matson, sophomore
  • 126 champion: Bradley Kish, senior
  • 132 champion: Seth Brossard, sophomore
  • 152 champion: Tyler Ryan, sophomore
  • 195 second place: Logan Quam, junior
  • 285 second place: Jesse Jackson, sophomore

Here is a complete list of the Section 2 Class A results from Saturday at Blue Earth Area High School:

  • 106 champion: Blake Legred, United South Central, sophomore; second place: Ethan Arett, Westfield, junior
  • 113 champion: Jeron Matson, Kenyon-Wanamingo, sophomore; second place: Keon Naranjo, Le Sueur-Henderson, senior
  • 120 champion: Jorge Hernandez, Le Sueur-Henderson, sophomore; second place: Caden Ochsendorf, Blue Earth Area, freshman
  • 126 champion: Bradley Kish, Kenyon-Wanamingo, senior; second place: Gavin Sonnek, United South Central, sophomore
  • 132 champion: Seth Brossard, Kenyon-Wanamingo, sophomore; second place: Dalton Pauly, Le Sueur-Henderson, freshman
  • 138 champion: Lincoln Arndt, Maple River, junior; second place: Willie Von Ruden, Medford, freshman
  • 145 champion: Cole Klinkner, Blue Earth Area, senior; second place: Nathan Moore, Maple River, junior
  • 152 champion: Tyler Ryan, Kenyon-Wanamingo, sophomore; second place: Zach Buseman, Blue Earth Area, junior
  • 160 champion: Colton Krell, Westfield, freshman; second place: Luke Wilson, Le Sueur-Henderson, senior
  • 170 champion: Morgan Moreno, Westfield, freshman; second place: Jeremiah Colon, Lake Crystal-Wellcome-Memorial, junior
  • 182 champion: Noah Decker, Maple River, senior; second place: Jesus Quintero, Blue Earth Area, senior
  • 195 champion: Jaren Armon, Blue Earth Area, senior; second place: Logan Quam, Kenyon-Wanamingo, junior
  • 220 champion: Mitchell Oswald, Westfield, junior; second place: Trenton Rogich, Le Sueur-Henderson, senior
  • 285 champion: Trey Chatman, Westfield, senior; second place: Jesse Jackson, Kenyon-Wanamingo, sophomore

Westfield is a team of Hayfield and Blooming Prairie students.

Kenyon-Wanamingo State Class A Wrestling Champions
Kenyon-Wanamingo- 2016 State Class A Wrestling Champions

More From KQCL Power 96