There were some head scratching movements in the latest Minnesota Associated Press High School Football Polls released today.  Mankato West nearly knocks off top ranked Owatonna in Class 5A action last week and falls all the way to #10 in the rankings.

Cannon Falls remains unbeaten and drops to #8 in Class 3A.  Likewise United South Central also dropped a notch in Class 1A and has not been defeated.

The biggest changes happened in Class 6A where top rated and defending State Champion Lakeville North fell to their crosstown rivals Lakeville South last week and fell from #1 all the way to #5.  Lakeville South moved up to the #2 position.  Undefeated Wayzata got the top spot.  Eden Prairie lost to Edina last week and is still #8 in the 6A rankings.  Farmington is #9.

Owatonna stays atop Class 5A with Rochester Mayo receiving votes but not cracking the top ten.  The top six teams are all undefeated.

In Class 4A Winona stays at #4 with 8 of the top 10 still with unblemished records.

Six teams are undefeated in the top 10 rankings in Class 3A including Cannon Falls but two teams with one loss are ranked above them (Fairmont, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton).

Caledonia has a stranglehold on the top spot in Class 2A with 5 of the top 10 unbeaten.

Blooming Prairie is just two points behind top rated BOLD in the 1A rankings and did receive a first place vote.  Mayer Lutheran is #9, Randolph received votes.

In 9-Man football 8 of the top 10 have no losses.  Mountain Lake Area is still #1, Leroy-Ostrander is #2 and did receive first place votes.

The complete rankings from the Minnesota Associated Press are below:

Class 9-Man

1. Mountain Lake Area
2. Leroy-Ostrander
3. Brandon-Evansville
4. Renville County West
5. Hancock
6. Ogilvie
7. Win-E-Mac
8. Southland
9. Hills-Beaver Creek
10. North Central
Others Receiving Votes:  Norman County East/Ulen-HItterdal, Stephen-Argyle, Mountain Iron-Buhl, Nicollet

Class 1A

2. Blooming Prairie
3. Minneota
4. Springfield
5. Afa-Borup/West
6. United South Central
7. Mahnomen-Waubun
8. Underwood
9. Mayer Lutheran
9. Braham
Others Receiving Votes:  Upsala-Swanville, Browerville, Martin County West, Randolph

Class 2A

1. Caledonia
2. Barnesville
3. Minneapolis North
4. Paynesville
5. Lewiston-Altura
6. Moose Lake-Willow River
7.Redwood Valley
8. Concordia Academy-Roseville
9. St. Agnes
9. Staples-Motley
9. Maple Lake
Others Receiving Votes:  St. Charles, Chatfield

Class 3A

1. Pierz
2. Jackson County Central
3. Albany
4. Annandale
5. Stewartville
6. Fairmont
7. Dilworth-Glyndon- Felton
8. Cannon Falls
9. Fairmont
10. Waseca
10. Perham
Others Receiving Votes:  Mora, Breck

Class 4A

1. SMB-Wolfpack
2. Hutchinson
3. Benilde-St. Margaret's
4. Winona
5. Detroit Lakes
6. Fridley
7. Becker
8. Simley
9. Marshall
10. Perham
Others Receiving Votes:  Cold Spring Rocori, Kasson-Mantorville

Class 5A

1. Owatonna
2. St. Thomas Academy
3. Elk River
4. Robbinsdale Armstrong
5. Bemidji
6. Tartan
7. Alexandria
8. Chaska
9. Rogers
10. Mankato West
Others Receiving Votes:  Minneapolis Southwest, Coon Rapids, Rochester Mayo

Class 6A

1. Wayzata
2. Lakeville South
3. St. Michael Albertville
4. Totino-Grace
5. Lakeville North
6. Champlin Park
7. Mounds View
8. Eden Prairie
9. Farmington
10. Centennial
Others Receiving Votes:  Cretin-Derham-Hall


More From KQCL Power 96