The Faribault Public School Board election has ten candidates hoping to be among the top three vote recipients.  Jerry Robicheau is the only current board member running.

Current board members since 2012 Yvette Marthaler and Jason Engbrecht decided not to seek re-election to their seats.  Some familiar faces will be involved in this election.

Former Faribault Public School Board member Richard Olson did file before the Tuesday deadline so his name will  be on the November Ballot.

Other candidates include Sonny Wasilowki, Andrea Calderon, Ahmen Hassan, Casie Steeves, Terry Pounds, Travis McColley, Damian Baum and Bradley Olson.

Whomever comes out of the race will join current members Chad Wolff, Carolyn Treadway, John Bellingham and Courtney Cavallier. Their terms are all up in 2022.

Northfield has a similar situation with two incumbents deciding not to run again and two individuals hoping to keep their seats.

Ellen Iverson and Rob Hardy are leaving the board so there is a guarantee of at least two new faces.

Board Clerk Noel Stratmoen and Vice Chair Amy Goerwitz decided to run again.  Six other people also filed the necessary paperwork to get their name on the November ballot.

They include Robert Coleman, Claudia Gonzalez-George, Corey Butler, Eric Lundin, Karen Jensen and Justin Merritt.

The winners will join Northfield Public School Board members Tom Baraniak, Treasurer Jeff Quinnell and Chair Julie Pritchard in overseeing the district during the challenges of a COVID-19 pandemic.

LET’S PLAY A GAME: Can You Answer These Minnesota Jeopardy! Questions?



More From KQCL Power 96