The Kenyon-Wanamingo Knights and Blue Earth Area Buccaneers travel to St. James Saturday to determine the Section 2A Champion.  Last year the Bucs won 39-23 in St. Clair after defeating Medford in the semifinals 47-19.

Blue Earth Area won a thriller against Grand Meadow-Leroy-Ostrander-Southland in the quarterfinals of state 34-32 before succumbing to Lester Prairie/Grey Eagle/Browerville the eventual champion 39-19.

The Bucs captured third place with a 36-26 win over Tracy-Milroy Balaton/Westbrook Walnut Grove 36-26.

This year BEA downed United South Central to start sections 59-18 then needed a pin at heavyweight against Medford before advancing 33-27.  The Bucs are the # 2 seed.

Top seed Kenyon-Wanamingo crushed LeSueur-Henderson 82-0 then had six first period pins en route to a 60-20 semifinal win over Maple River.

The final regular season Guillotine rankings had K-W #12 in Class A with BEA in the Lean and Mean.

The Bucs have one ranked wrestler.  Senior Nick Frank is rated #10 at 195 pounds.

The Knights have three individuals ranked among the best in their weight class in the state in Class A.

  • Freshman Gavin Johnson  8th at 113 pounds
  • Senior Carter Quam 5th at 220 pounds
  • Senior Armani Tucker 10th at 285 pounds

K-W is 20-4.  They have lost to just one Class A team, Chatfield.  Their other losses  were, twice to Class AA power Kasson-Mantorville and Class 3A New Prague.

Blue Earth Area enters Saturday's matchup with a 21-5 record and 8 straight wins.

The Knights also have 8 straight team victories going into the Section Title match in St. James.

Bracket on

Here are Section results this year for both teams according to Guillotine.


Kenyon-Wanamingo 82 LeSueur-Henderson 0
106 – Tate Miller (K-W) over Luca Greenig (L-H) Fall 1:04
113 – Gavin Johnson (K-W) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
120 – Trent Foss (K-W) over Wyatt Genelin (L-H) Fall 0:30
126 – Landon Trump (K-W) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
132 – Kiefer Olson (K-W) over Mark Boisjolie (L-H) Fall 1:09
138 – Alec Johnson (K-W) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
145 – Jaedin Johnson (K-W) over Jordan Grinde (L-H) Maj 9-1
152 – Bray Olson (K-W) over Andy Genelin (L-H) Fall 1:10
160 – Tyler Craig (K-W) over Sam Gupton (L-H) Fall 2:24
170 – Dillon Bartel (K-W) over Ethan Genelin (L-H) Fall 1:24
182 – Will Van Epps (K-W) over George Doherty (L-H) Fall 1:21
195 – Logan Meyers (K-W) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
220 – Carter Quam (K-W) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
285 – Armani Tucker (K-W) over Noe Sanchez (L-H) Fall 0:31

Blue Earth Area 59 United South Central 18
106 – Cooper Peterson (BEA) over Kolt Bullerman (USC) TF 16-0
113 – Caleb Langager (BEA) over Isaiah Gonzalez (USC) Fall 0:40
120 – Bryce Sonnek (USC) over Carson Sturtz (BEA) Maj 14-0
126 – Byron Getchell (USC) over Blair Lunz (BEA) Maj 13-0
132 – Ethan Elvebak (USC) over Angel Martinez (BEA) Fall 0:56
138 – Ty Peterson (BEA) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
145 – Micah Hamson (USC) over Parker Meyers (BEA) Maj 11-3
152 – Cory Kitchel (BEA) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
160 – Max Ehrich (BEA) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
170 – Kean Hicks (BEA) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
182 – Nick Frank (BEA) over Collin Van Cleave (USC) Fall 0:29
195 – Adam Schavey (BEA) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf
220 – Logan Johnson (BEA) over Matt Beyer (USC) Fall 2:36
285 – Luke Mertens (BEA) over Unknown (Unattached) Forf


Kenyon-Wanamingo 60 Maple River 20
106 – Tate Miller (Kenyon-Wanamingo) over Wyatt Walters (Maple River) Fall 1:55
113 – Gavin Johnson (Kenyon-Wanamingo) over Garrett Bollmann (MR) Fall 1:07
120 – Trent Foss (Kenyon-Wanamingo) over Waylon Simon (Maple River) Fall 0:17
126 – Kiefer Olson (Kenyon-Wanamingo) over Braxton Simon (Maple River) Fall 0:38
132 – Boden Simon (Maple River) over Landon Trump (Kenyon-Wanamingo) TF 15-0
138 – Alec Johnson (Kenyon-Wanamingo) over Isaac Sowers (Maple River) Fall 0:39
145 – Ethan Evenson (MR) over Jaedin Johnson (Kenyon-Wanamingo) Dec 2-0
152 – Bray Olson (Kenyon-Wanamingo) over Noah Ziegler (Maple River) Fall 1:11
160 – Tyler Craig (Kenyon-Wanamingo) over Matteo De Raffaele (MR) Fall 1:15
170 – Cooper Ochsendorf (MR) over Dillon Bartel (Kenyon-Wanamingo) Fall 5:29
182 – Brady Walters (Maple River) over Will Van Epps (Kenyon-Wanamingo) Inj 3:04
195 – Logan Meyers (Kenyon-Wanamingo) over Tobias Conover (MR) Fall 0:58
220 – Carter Quam (Kenyon-Wanamingo) over Thayne Decker (Maple River) Fall 1:50
285 – Armani Tucker (Kenyon-Wanamingo) over Dizel Butler (Maple River) Fall 0:20

Blue Earth Area 33 Medford 27
106 – Tommy Elwood (Medford) over Timmy Nagel (Blue Earth Area) Fall 0:43
113 – Cooper Peterson (Blue Earth Area) over Evan Schweisthal (Medford) Dec 5-1
120 – Caleb Langager (Blue Earth Area) over Jack Meyer (Medford) Dec 4-0
126 – Alex Helgeson (Medford) over Carson Sturtz (Blue Earth Area) Dec 5-3
132 – Derek Bartosch (Medford) over Blair Lunz (Blue Earth Area) Maj 18-6
138 – Ty Peterson (Blue Earth Area) over Kael Neumann (Medford) Fall 0:45
145 – Charley Elwood (Medford) over Gabe Smith (Blue Earth Area) TF 16-0
152 – Garron Hoffman (Medford) over Parker Meyers (Blue Earth Area) Dec 7-1
160 – Max Ehrich (Blue Earth Area) over Dillon Bartosch (Medford) Fall 0:43
170 – Kean Hicks (Blue Earth Area) over Tate Hermes (Medford) Dec 9-5
182 – Josiah Hedensten (Medford) over Adam Schavey (Blue Earth Area) Dec 9-4
195 – Nick Frank (Blue Earth Area) over Dylan Heiderscheidt (Medford) Fall 1:31
220 – Brennon Hoffman (Medford) over Logan Johnson (Blue Earth Area) Dec 5-1
285 – Luke Mertens (Blue Earth Area) over Gavin Hermes (Medford) Fall 1:55

KDHL 920 AM coverage begins 12:45 p.m. You can also listen on the radio at 97.9 FM and the match will be available on the KDHL App.

See if you recognize these 20 words and phrases used this past year.

20 Words and Phrases That Are So 2020


More From KQCL Power 96